云应用安全评估 (CASA)

概览

由于复杂的系统通过云连接到云集成,因此请务必采用一种标准的方式来保护消费者数据和隐私。在过去的十年中,云基础架构的安全性得到显著提升。但是,应用层仍然存在巨大的安全挑战。

CASA 在 OWASP 的应用安全验证标准 (ASVS) 的基础上制定了业界认可的标准,提供一套要在云应用中实现的安全控制措施。此外,对于应用访问 Google 用户数据所需的评估,CASA 提供了一种统一的方法来评估这些控制措施。CASA 添加了多级评估方法,可根据用户、范围和其他应用特定项应对风险的潜在变化。虽然我们强烈建议您提供第三方评估,但所有公司都可以通过自我评估计划开始增强安全性。 如果您符合此计划的条件,Google 将直接与您联系,启动后续步骤。

优势

我们希望推动整个行业提高透明度,让用户对自己使用的应用在数据安全和隐私方面拥有控制权。对云应用和后端服务进行安全性评估可大大减少常见漏洞,同时让消费者对最终产品和服务更加有信心。

运作方式

CASA 框架为使用 OWASP 应用安全验证标准 (ASVS) 测试 Web 应用技术安全控制奠定了基础。

CASA 框架
图 1:CASA 框架

CASA 框架提供了用于评估应用安全验证标准 4.0 中的 14 类 Web 应用的测试指南

安全评估层级:

CASA 识别云应用的三层评估

  • 三级评估要求开发者完成一份自我评估调查问卷,然后由 CASA 授权实验室进行审核。这是开发者提供的信息的纸质评价。
  • 第二级评估要求开发者完成一份自我评估调查问卷,然后由 CASA 授权实验室进行审核。这是开发者提供的信息的纸质评价,包含配置检查。
  • 第 1 级评估包括第 2 级步骤,以及 CASA 授权实验室的完整安全评估。
CASA 框架
图 1 :CASA 框架

评估必须满足 OWASP ASVS 4.0 安全标准的 CASA 基准要求。评估的目的是对外部可访问的接口进行有时间限制的黑盒审核,不包括云基础架构或内部服务器通信。建议开发者在整个开发过程中进行安全评估。但是,CASA 只需要每年对安全评估报告进行更新。

建议开发者查看并实现级别 1 和级别 2 的 ASVS 规范中的所有控件,不过,ADA 只需要完整 ASVS 要求的子集。

授权的实验室合作伙伴

如需开始 CASA 评估,请联系实验室合作伙伴并提交安全评估调查问卷。

Cloud Application Security Assessment (CASA)

Overview

As complex systems are connected through cloud to cloud integrations, it is important to have a standard way to secure consumer data and privacy. Over the past decade, there has been a large improvement in cloud infrastructure security. However, there are significant security challenges left in the application layer.

CASA has built upon the industry recognized standards coming from OWASP's Application Security Verification Standard (ASVS) to provide a baseline set of security controls which should be implemented in cloud applications. Further, CASA provides a uniform way to perform assessments of these controls when such assessments are required for Applications to access Google User Data. CASA has added a multi-level assessment method to address the potential change in risk based on user, scope, and other application specific items. Though we highly recommend third party assessments, we provide a means for all companies to begin improving their security through a self-assessment program. If you are eligible for this program, Google will reach out directly to initiate next steps.

Benefits

We want to drive the industry to give users the transparency and control they expect when it comes to data security and privacy for the apps they use. Performing security assessments of the cloud applications and back end services will greatly reduce common vulnerabilities, while increasing consumer confidence in the final products and services.

How it works

The CASA framework provides a basis for testing web application technical security controls using the OWASP Application Security Verification Standard (ASVS).

CASA framework
Figure 1: CASA framework

CASA framework provides test guidelines for evaluating Web Apps across fourteen categories of the Application Security Verification Standard 4.0

Security assessment tiers:

CASA recognizes three tiers of assessment for cloud applications

  • Tier three assessments require the developer to complete a self assessment questionnaire, which is then reviewed by a CASA Authorized Lab. This is a paper review of the developer supplied information.
  • Tier two assessments require the developer to complete a self assessment questionnaire, which is then reviewed by a CASA Authorized Lab. This is a paper review of the developer supplied information, with the addition of configuration checks.
  • Tier one assessments include the steps of tier two, plus a full security assessment by the CASA Authorized Lab.
CASA frameworks
Figure 1: CASA framework

The assessments must meet the CASA baseline requirements from the OWASP ASVS 4.0 security standard. The assessments are intended to be time-limited black box audits of the externally accessible interfaces, and do not include cloud infrastructure or internal server communications. It is recommended that developers perform security assessments throughout the development process. However, CASA only requires annual updates to the security assessment report.

It is recommended that developers review and implement all the controls in the level 1 and level 2 ASVS specification, however, ADA only requires a subset of the full ASVS requirements.

Authorized Lab partners:

Start your CASA Assessment by reaching out to the lab partners and submitting the security assessment questionnaire.